I asked ChatGPT to describe racism from the perspective of a white person

The response lacks actionable steps and relies on textbook definitions of how to combat racism without concrete steps to do so.

James Woods
3 min readFeb 8, 2023
Photo by Luis Villasmil on Unsplash

The following comes from a prompt I asked ChatGPT, which was, “Help me write an essay about racism from the perspective of a white person”.

As a white person, I have never experienced racism in the way that people of color have. However, this does not mean that I am not affected by it or that I cannot use my privilege to speak out against it. Racism is a pervasive problem in our society, and it is my responsibility to educate myself and take action to help eradicate it.

Growing up, I was taught that everyone is equal and that we should treat everyone with respect. However, it wasn’t until I got older that I realized that this ideal is not always reflected in the real world. Racism can take many forms, from hate crimes to microaggressions, and it affects people of color in profound ways. It is unacceptable that someone can be discriminated against simply because of the color of their skin.

As a white person, I have a unique role to play in fighting against racism. I can use my privilege to challenge racist attitudes and behaviors, and…

--

--

James Woods

I’m not afraid to challenge the status quo. Editor-in-chief of Perceive More! Find me at https://perceive.substack.com too.